Pinnacle real Estate AcademyNorth Carolina Post-Licensing Courses


PLEASE READ

You must already have your NC Provisional Real Estate License BEFORE registering for these classes!

YOU MUST HAVE A NORTH CAROLINA PROVISIONAL LICENSE IN ORDER TO TAKE POST LICENSING CLASSESAs of July 1, 2020 South Carolina Agents have three options when it comes to acquiring their North Carolina Real Estate License.

Option 1: Active SC Brokers License

Order a Certificate of Licensure from the SC Real Estate Commission (this will eventually need to be sent to NC) 
Purchase a NC Manual from Pinnacle to study the State material  
Apply at the NC Real Estate Commission & upload your SC Certificate of Licensure 
Once approved go to PSIexams.com to schedule your exam 
Your NC license can be hung with a NC BIC and your SC license can be hung with a SC BIC. If your BIC is a NC & SC BIC then your license can be hung with the same person. Otherwise, they have to be hung with two different people or companies. 

Option 2: Active SC SALESMAN License

If you are a SC SALESMAN you will NOT be required to take an exam but WILL be required to complete an additional 90 hours of NC Post Licensing courses over an 18 month period. (Post Licensing courses are described below and offered at Pinnacle) YOU MUST FIRST OBTAIN A NORTH CAROLINA REAL ESTATE PROVISIONAL BROKER LICENSE.
If you are a SC BROKER you have the option of either applying and taking the 40 question NC State Exam OR completing the 90 hours of courses in NC over an 18 month period. Therefore, if you have thought about upgrading your SC license to a Brokers license, this would be the time.
Your NC license can be hung with a NC BIC and your SC license can be hung with a SC BIC. If your BIC is a NC & SC BIC then your license can be hung with the same person. Otherwise, they have to be hung with two different people or companies.

Option 3: Active NC Provisional License

If you have taken and passed your NC Pre-licensing and State exam and hold your Provisional Brokers License and you need to complete your 90 hour of NC Post Licensing courses, you have found the right place! Below is a description of Post Licensing 301, 302, 303. 
You DO NOT need to have a SC Real Estate License to attend these courses or this school.
If you need to take the NC Pre-Licensing Course, Please Click Here

Course Title/Instructor
Course Date
Course Time
Participation Type
 

NC POST LIC 303 In-Person

Urso, Melissa
March 25, 2024 - March 29, 2024
8:30 am - 3:00 pm
IN-PERSON

NC POST LIC 303 via Zoom

Urso, Melissa
March 25, 2024 - March 29, 2024
8:30 am - 3:00 pm
ZOOM

NC POST LIC 301 IN PERSON

Kavanagh, Christopher
April 16, 2024 - April 19, 2024
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
IN-PERSON

NC POST LIC 301 VIA ZOOM

Kavanagh, Christopher
April 16, 2024 - April 19, 2024
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
ZOOM

NC POST LIC 302 via Zoom

Urso, Melissa
April 29, 2024 - May 03, 2024
8:30 am - 3:00 pm
ZOOM

NC POST LIC 302 IN PERSON

Urso, Melissa
April 29, 2024 - May 03, 2024
8:30 am - 3:00 pm
IN-PERSON

Post Licensing FAQ’s

What are the Post Licensing courses?

Post 301-Broker Relationships & Responsibilities, Post 302-Contracts & Closing, and Post 303-NC Law, Rules & Legal Concepts. Course syllabi are available on the  Commission’s website.

Do I have to take the Post Licensing courses in a certain order?

No. Post Licensing courses may be taken in any sequence. However, the Commission recommends that you follow the course number sequence (301, 302, & 303), as course materials were developed with that sequence in mind.

When do I have to complete the Post Licensing courses?

Until June 30, 2020, Provisional Brokers (PBs) must complete at least one Post Licensing course in each of the first three years following initial licensure in order to retain eligibility to actively engage in real estate brokerage. 

Effective July 1, 2020, PBs must complete all 3 Post Licensing courses within 18 month of initial licensure to retain eligibility to actively engage in real estate brokerage.

Can I take all three Post Licensing courses within the first year?

Yes. You may take all three courses during the first or second year after initial licensure and the “provisional” status of your license will be removed upon their completion. You may not enroll in two Post Licensing courses concurrently that exceed a total of 30 instructional hours in a seven-day period. Refer to Rule 58A.1904.

Can I get CE credit for Post Licensing courses?

No. Post Licensing courses do not provide CE credit.

Are there course exams in Post Licensing courses?

Yes, and you must pass the course final examinations to pass the courses.

What happens if I don’t take the Post Licensing courses before the deadline?

If you do not timely complete Post Licensing education, your license will be placed on inactive status. You may NOT perform any brokerage activities or collect brokerage fees (including referral fees) while your license is Inactive. Refer to  58A.1902.

Where can I take the Post Licensing courses?

The courses are offered by the same schools that conduct the Pre Licensing course. A list of  approved schools  are available on the Commission’s website.

Post Licensing 301:
Brokerage Relationships and Responsibilities

Course Description: The Post 301 – Broker Relationships and Responsibilities course is one of the three 30-classroom hour courses in the North Carolina mandatory Post-licensing (PL) education program. Currently, Commission Rule 58A .1902 dictates that NC Provisional Brokers must complete at least one PL course annually by their license anniversary dates within three (3) years after initial licensure to remain eligible for active license status. Effective July 1, 2020, the rule will require that all three (3) PL courses be completed within 18 months of initial licensure. The rule change will be immediately effective on July 1, meaning there will not be a grandfather period for current licensees. The primary objective of the courses is to provide instruction at a level beyond that provided in Pre-licensing courses on topics deemed to be of special importance. Topics addressed in this course include:Option 1:Active SC BROKERS License

  • A review of agency relationships in real estate residential and commercial sales and commercial property management transactions,
  • A real estate broker’s legal duties to clients and customers,
  • A step-by-step review and discussion of the functions and responsibilities of a real estate broker when working with sellers and buyers,
  • A review of issues associated with transactions in progress when a broker leaves a firm, and
  • A review of selected license status and education issues.

Post Licensing 302:
Contracts and Closing

Course Description: The Post 302 - Contracts and Closing course is one of the three 30- instructional hour courses in the North Carolina mandatory Post-licensing education program Currently, Commission Rule 58A .1902 dictates that NC Provisional Brokers must complete at least one PL course annually by their license anniversary dates within three (3) years after initial licensure to remain eligible for active license status. Effective July 1, 2020, the rule will require that all three (3) PL courses be completed within 18 months of initial licensure. The rule change will be immediately effective on July 1, meaning there will not be a grandfather period for current licensees. The primary objective of the courses is to provide instruction at a level beyond that provided in Pre-licensing courses on topics deemed to be of special importance. Topics addressed in this course include:

  • selected basic contract law concepts,
  • real estate sales contract preparation,
  • sales contract procedures,
  • buyer’s due diligence,
  • closing procedures,
  • Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act,
  • closing disclosure preparation,
  • contracts for deed, options, and
  • selected real estate license status and education issues.

Post Licensing 303:
NC Law, Rules and Legal Concepts

Course Description: The Post 303 NC Law, Rules, and Legal Concepts course is one of the three 30-instructional hour courses in the North Carolina mandatory Post-licensing education program. Currently, Commission Rule 58A .1902 dictates that NC Provisional Brokers must complete at least one PL course annually by their license anniversary dates within three (3) years after initial licensure to remain eligible for active license status. Effective July 1, 2020, the rule will require that all three (3) PL courses be completed within 18 months of initial licensure. The rule change will be immediately effective on July 1, meaning there will not be a grandfather period for current licensees. The primary objective of the courses is to provide instruction at a level beyond that provided in Pre-licensing courses on topics deemed to be of special importance. Topics addressed in this course include:

  • General North Carolina licensing requirements
  • Brokerage compensation issues
  • The disciplinary process
  • Specialized types of real estate,
  • Property management in NC
  • Miscellaneous NC laws and legal concepts